Author in the making

February 2012

You’ve no doubt had someone say to you, ‘you should write a book.’ Several people said that to me over the last ten years. Flattered, well yes! The only problem was what to write about? I hated English classes at school – hated school generally to be honest. I’d probably forgotten more than I ever knew about grammar, tense and punctuation. I could do verbs, nouns and adjectives I thought, but a participle? That only provided an degree of mirth; my dad’s name being Percy Tipple. I rarely read anything other than car maintenance manuals, or electronics magazines or articles connected with work.

So what happened? Why do I want to write now? For starters, I’ve read lots of books over the last twenty years and enjoyed them. The more I read, the more I wanted to read. I knew which authors left me cold and those who worked for me, eager to read their latest. Visit http://www.edwintipple.com/contactlinks.html to see my favourite authors.

When I retired three years ago, we spent a lot of time in Thailand, especially over the winters. I began to write short articles about living here mainly for the benefit of those back home: perhaps to reassure them that we were alright living in Asia. Those early scrawlings were loaded with errors; all the things I’d forgotten about. But I enjoyed doing them.

In January I self-published them – without the errors – as a short e-book on Smashwords and Amazon, under the title of My Thai Eye, a wry look at things Thai. And they’re selling, not in vast numbers – I didn’t expect they would – but selling. I  did this for a number of reasons;

  • It would raise some money for Thai flood relief: I have chosen a book library Plan for Kids a childrens’ charity. Seemed fitting as so many were destroyed,
  • It would help to get my name ‘out there’,
  • I would gain experience at placing my own work in e-book stores and to learn how it all worked.

But My Thai Eye is done with now, apart from the marketing, such as this – which I think I’ll enjoy – and checking from time to time to see how sales are going – which I might not. As part of my marketing, I designed & built my own website – and the cover for My Thai Eye – so gradually I’m learning quite a lot about more about publishing. I haven’t done this alone and want to thank all of the Clouders at The Writers’ Workshop – the best on-line community for new writers – and their editors who nicely but firmly pointed me in the right direction. Plus David Gaughran – you should visit his site Let’s Get Digital if you want to e-pub, where he passes on his experiences.

So, what now? What to write about next? Two years ago I had no idea. Then one balmy evening, I had that eureka moment. I knew what my first novel would be about. And I’ll tell you all about it over the coming months.

Edwin Tipple edwintipple.com

February 2555 in Thailand

2012 elsewhere

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

